Dear Fellow Bloggers,

Lets drop (most of) the humor for a moment and go on a trip to truthville.

Fact 1: The blogosphere is huge.

Fact 2: I know some of you are exceptionally eager to get more people to read your posts and like and comment on what you have written.

Fact 3: It feels good to know people agree with you or like your thoughts. What writer wouldn’t want that?

Fact 4: I know, sometimes, some of you think a simple ‘like’ on my post will make me feel good and make me want to check out your blog to see what you’re up to.

It sort of does. Sort of. Maybe.

But let me be brutally honest since we’re in truthville. I am not ashamed to admit that I am not a big shot blogger (yet). By the end of today, I’ll probably have close to 750 total blog views accumulated in almost exactly one month and close to 50 followers. I also got my 100 likes badge yesterday. My greatest number of hits in one day is 64. Most days my number of hits are closer to 20.  That’s not bad, but I’m not exactly going to get any book deals anytime soon either.


My main concern is the value of those likes. If you haven’t read my post, at least half of it, you can’t even begin to know if you like it. Hence, your feedback becomes rubbish and you’ve completely devalued one of my first badges. (Allow yourself to hear a dry, sarcastic “thanks” in a nice mid-western nasally droll.) You are essentially lying, and I don’t like liars.

If you liked my post because you read it, great. If you want to comment, I’ll be over the moon! If you ‘like’ my post because you just want to alert me to your existence, screw you.

No, I didn’t stutter. (Can you even do that in type?)

Screw you.

With the exception of the occasional high traffic time, I can tell when somebody just liked my blog in their blog roll and never bothered to actually read it. I can check my stats, and see that I have not accumulated another single view, and I can disregard your ‘like’.

Who cares if you ‘like’ it? You didn’t even read it.

Just liking my blog won’t send me rushing over to check out what your up to if that’s how you roll. Heck, I’m closer than a wave is to the surf to unfollowing some bloggers because they just followed me back and continually do this.

I have confidence in myself and my writing ability. I’ve been published in real life (not self-published) so many times I can’t count it anymore. I’ve made a living at it (like, paid the bills, put gas in my car, fed myself, etc.). I’ve had real people stop me on the streets or call me up to tell me what they thought of something I wrote. I’m not trying to brag. I’m just trying to impart that I don’t need your ego boosts and I value honest feedback and interactions so much more than a flippant, passing ‘like’.

There are some awesome blogs out there. I hope to be one of them someday, but until that day, I’m content to just have a place to share my more private thoughts, joys, and concerns.

In turn, fellow bloggers, I use the same code of ethics when reading your blogs. I outlined it in my ABOUT page, but I will reiterate it here. If I ‘like’ your blog, I actually read it and I actually like it. I may not have a comment or opinion to add, but I thought that reading your blog was worth the time it took and I am grateful to you for taking the time to write it. I think it was, at the very least, interesting, if not a whole host of other adjectives.

Being currently unemployed (see: Immigration Canada is driving me bonkers) I have lots of free time and I like to spend lots of it reading. I ‘like’ a lot of blogs in one day and I even comment on a few.

Please, make your ‘likes’ mean something for me too. 

Sincerely not a ‘like’ whore,


(After being Freshly Pressed: I was trying to reply to comments but appear to have been blocked. Please don’t be offended if I can’t reply to yours. I did try.)

775 Responses to “Dear Fellow Bloggers,”
  1. Laura says:

    Thank you for the time in truthville. I’m trying to be patient as my blog finds its way to more people, but it’s a weird journey. Anyway, I’m into brutal honesty so I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts. Congrats on your 100 Likes badge! (especially the Likes from your real readers)

  2. You may be overthinking the likes.
    There’s lots of self-promotion and trickery everywhere in social media, I imagine, and likes represent the absolute minimum investment possible to show any appreciaiton: one click total. I’ll admit I misuse them on occassion, although differently than you described. For lack of a better page marker, likes do the job, so I can come back later. I do try to read everything I can, just as try to do lots and lots of more or less worthy tasks each day. I’d guess that a small fraction of my total likes are like that, but who knows, really? I doubt it matters much, really. I just try to keep plugging, offer some material that people hopefully appreciate, some of it form the book I’m working on, and share what I found others doing. I try to keep it fun because except for some free books, I haven’t made a dime at this gig just yet, and I’m not holding my breath. So I keep it sustainable, which for me means fun, and I don’t sweat the small stuff or think too much about people’s motives out there. Driving myself beserk is no way to achieve these goals, so I mostly spare myself judging other bloggers & readers. Until we figure out how to read minds, you never get valid answers anyway, just guesses. Life is too short for the nonsense and fretting, to me anyway. Take care – Greg

  3. Tim Taylor says:

    Well, 3 years later and here I am posting a comment. Pretty consistent I’d say :) This was well written and I’m presuming that by now you have many more readers and followers. Like you, I don’t much care for a random, fly by night like. I love to engage with my readers and just getting a “like”, in some ways, defeats the purpose for me.

  4. pilch92 says:

    A “like” whore- that is a new one that I have never heard. I do agree with everything you wrote and I did read the whole thing.

  5. Janice Wald says:

    I read the whole thing.

  6. I have felt the same disappointment when my views don’t match the amount of likes on my stats, but then I remind myself that somewhere along the way some busy person did take the time to read a few of my posts. This is pretty sweet because in the blogging world I’m a pretty small speck, but I really do find it amazing that anyone was interested ever. I get that I’m not destined for fame, but It is something I do for myself. It feeds my soul. I also most genuinely enjoy reading as many other posts as possible. G-uno

  7. mariaholm says:

    I agree with you and appreciate honest people

  8. I ‘Liked’ it because I DID like the post :)

  9. sunflower says:

    Reblogged this on orthodoxsunflower and commented:
    I am guilty of this myself sometimes but in my defense,I read the part that’s visible in the reader but sometimes I just don’t have the time but I want to support you with a like. But she has a good point!

  10. This is so interesting. I’m a month into my first blog and find myself with similar stats to those you have mentioned. While conversational (& I hope engaging) my blog is first and foremost a cathartic analysis of a personal bereavement. In that way it is selfish but I hope possibly helpful and interesting to the few people who do pop in and read it (both friends and fellow bloggers). My first week blogging I wasn’t sure how this all worked. Of course I wanted my posts to be read – why bother otherwise – but being such a personal topics I wasn’t interested in likes from people who clearly wanted them in return. I made a rule quite soon in that while I would always check out the page of those who liked me I wouldn’t follow of like them back for the sake of it. On if I have a genuine interest in someone’s writing is it worth the time. As a result I currently only follow a handful of great blogs and use these to discover similarly like minded bloggers (I found yourself for example through ‘enjoy life for once’ who I follow and recommended you).

    I learnt this lesson from a post I read by someone who liked me in my first week. One look at her page and it all made sense. Not only did we share nothing in common (short stories about Canadian Ice Hockey Cheerleaders and grieving over your dead mother don.t really go hand in hand) but 5 minutes reading revealed a post where the blogger in question thanked people for helping her get over 200 likes and shamelessly admitted that ‘I guess it jut goes to show that if you like lots of blogs a lot of people like you back!’. Needless to say I haven’t visited that blog again and not surprisingly she hasn’t liked anything else of mine. :)

    Gosh, sorry for the long comment I got a bit carried away there, your post just really resonated with me. It says a lot about people’s true motives behind blogging and their need to validation.

    Great insight – thanks for sharing!


  11. Nostra says:

    Great post and very true. Some likes really can be meaningless, I much rather have 1 comment than 10 likes…

  12. gahwieuasa says:

    Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is great, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Dear Fellow Bloggers, A Lateral Plunge: Where Life Goes From Here .

  13. DaydreamsinWonderland says:

    I know exactly what you mean. I’m able to tell when someone hasn’t read my post as well & when they’re just spamming me with likes. About 98% of my readers/followers are genuine but their are some fakers too. It irritates me also. Excellent post. :)

    • Peaches says:

      Thank you Day Dreams. For a long time, this post made me a little notorious and the fake likes stopped, but they are starting to happen again :( Sad.

      • DaydreamsinWonderland says:

        The up side is, sometimes with all the traffic they draw in, you start to build a loyal following. My group is small because I’m relatively new here. However, I find a lot of the same readers with interests similiar to mine, keep coming back. (&some I think found me through the spammers)

  14. A-friggin-men. (I know it’s an older post to have commented on, but hell…I’m pretty new to this little world, so why not?!) ;)

  15. Lusi Njo says:

    Thanks for writing this post. I’m a bit relieved to know that a few other bloggers were as naive as me about ‘blog likes’.

    The ‘likes’ for some of my posts were a bit too instant. Yet, the stats and likes of my blog did not add up. And, I actually took the time to read the blogs of my ‘post-likers’ and to choose a few of their posts that I like…. tsk tsk….!

    Your post is a must-read for all new bloggers. Thanks!

  16. LubbyGirl says:

    Reckon I’m a bit of a greenhorn here too…I always wondered how I got a “like” so quickly after I posted something. I guess I just thought people really read that fast! :-) Oh well. Their loss if they just hit “like” and don’t read it.

  17. well put and no doubt we have all had thoughts along these lines at some point

  18. HOW do you know if I read your blog or not just from me liking it? I believe that probably write a few people use the like button as advertisement for their own blog but I randomly search blogs I’m not subscribed too all the time and I might “like” them and never read them again. I do not have any desire to use my “like” to gain interest in my blog, I just simply liked the piece I read. But if you have a fool proof way of knowing a fake liker from a real one I would be interested in knowing how it is to be done?

  19. John says:

    I read the whole article :) Great point, this needs to be discussed among the blogosphere much more than it is. Appreciate you bringing this up.

  20. Lol! I am new at this. I like LIKE your post. =>

  21. bharatwrites says:

    Luckily, I rarely get likes from people who don’t read. Not much incentive yet I guess. But yes, plain liking without commenting does happen, and I think those readers aren’t coming back. Nice post. Congrats on getting Freshly Pressed.

  22. jontueks says:

    Straightforward and concise. I’d agree with the whole post.

  23. We are in agreement regarding rating/like systems. I look at something that may catch my attention, and only if I actually like it will I give any click-based notification of such opinion. If I don’t, then all it got from me was a view.

  24. Evienereal says:

    This is pretty handy. Truth be told, I don’t have a big following. Likes are hard to come by. I would get at the very least 5 for each post at one point, but suddenly, that all stopped.
    I’m not aiming to be a popular blogger/writer, but hey, some recognition helps does make you feel a little fuzzy inside.
    Good on you for telling like it is. I’m liking and following because hey, I like the cut of your jib!

    Peace and love,

  25. pixiepot says:

    Well said! I completely agree with you. I ‘like’ a post if a) I found it humourous, b) I found it informative, c) I found it creative or d) I found it inspiring. Scrap that, I ‘like’ a post when, just like yourself, I actually like it.

    As you put so well – it is meaningless feedback.

    PS: Congratulations on becoming Freshly Pressed, by the way. I can see that your blog statistics have gone up a hell of a lot. Well done, I guess a lot of people agree with you and like your post. ;)

    Keep writing and keep up the wonderful job – you have a new follower here. ;)

  26. Ashley says:

    I now don’t feel so bad about not checking out the blogs of people who liked my post right after publication. I new it seemed too good to be true. And I guess that explains why my stats don’t always change
    Yes, I can be that naive.
    But when I like or comment on a post, it’s because I read it and truly liked it! Not for views. I’m not in it solely for that.
    Thank you for this, not just because I completely agree with you, but also because it was a slap-in-the-face style wake-up call that I have some true readers, and others who just want me to read about them.
    Thank you, thank you, thank you.

  27. Great post. Was very pleasing to read the truth about like’s and seeing some of us all share the same thoughts. Thanks for posting!

  28. littletash says:

    I completely agree. I kind of wish they’d take the “Like” button away from the ‘Blogs I Follow’ list. It’s way too easy to just scroll and like without reading a single word.

  29. binvested says:

    I love this post, and I agree with you. I do actually read blogs and subscribe to some. There is so much creativity out there…it’s inspiring…like yours. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  30. allanbramwell says:

    I clicked like because of the accuracy of the post. I have people clicking like on my posts and then taking away the like just so I look at who they were… it becomes fairly annoying!

Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] an interesting post about liking blogs that I came across on Freshly Pressed last year.  I’m not sure if I agree with all of the […]

  2. […] Peaches at A Lateral Plunge and Doug Kleeman at Stuff Worth Talking About were both Freshly Pressed for posts on Internet […]

  3. […] Bring the beat back, ride on ride on ♪ Dear Fellow Bloggers, “Let’s drop (most of) the humor for a moment and go on a trip to truthville. Fact 1: The […]

  4. […] you Peaches for this insight on proper comments and likes on “Dear Fellow Bloggers.” Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeOne blogger likes […]

  5. […] or if I’m trying to be funny or supportive. I save the venting and ranting for my own blog. The second post, I also genuinely liked, and its author too. I felt compelled to comment (one of a BAZILLION, btw) […]

  6. […] finally off the front page of Freshly Pressed with that post and your views have dwindled significantly. I know you’re not sure if you’re happy […]

  7. […] meander slowly onto the point. The other day one of the featured posts (to be specific, this post caught my eye. If you don’t fancy reading it, in essence it was a hit-out at the bloggers […]

  8. […] Peaches at A Lateral Plunge has a great post about “liking” blogs.  It’s on the front page of WordPress as of this writing, so probably lots of people have seen it already, but I wanted to mention it because it confirmed what I’ve suspected about likes on here for some time: to wit, many of them are worthless.  I mean, why would a real estate agency “like” a whimsical post about Antarctic aliens and H.P. Lovecraft? […]

Spill it

  • Visits

    • 17,360
  • You can talk to me!

    Have something you really want to share with me, Peaches, but not the rest of the fruits on this page? I have no idea why; we're all very friendly. But if that is the case, you can email me!


    Yes, that is one the longest email addresses you've ever seen.

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 356 other followers

